Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th July 2016, 06:48 AM   #1
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Latest AC3D X-Plane plugin - download here

This is the definitive download web page for the latest AC3D XPlane plugin. It will be updated when new versions are available.

X-Plane plugins for AC3D 8.5/8.6 (3.5b1)

Windows: http://www.inivis.com/external/xplan...anewin35b1.zip

Mac: http://www.inivis.com/external/xplan...anemac35b1.tgz

Linux: http://www.inivis.com/external/xplane/ac3dxplanelx35b1.tgz


This version adds the ability to edit the exported OBJ header (in X-Plane export settings) e.g. "GLOBAL_specular 1.0\n".

See below for plugin installation instructions.


X-Plane plugins for AC3D 8.3 (3.4b3)

The 64 bit X-Plane plugins are here :

Windows: www.inivis.com/external/XPlaneSupportWin34b3.zip


Mac: www.inivis.com/external/ac3dxplanemac34b3.tgz


Here is the X-Plane plugin (3.3b3) for AC3D 8.0.

This adds support for exporting TEXTURE_NORMAL lines.

Download AC3D X-Plane plugin for Windows

Download AC3D X-Plane plugin for Mac

Download AC3D X-Plane plugin for Linux

*** Mac users should not use the previous version 3.3b2 - there's a nasty divide-by-zero bug in it which can cause a crash. Update to the above version. ***

For AC3D 7.5:
This version 3.3b1. It adds support for the new X-Plane 10.50 Manipulators.

Windows

Mac


Installation Instructions

AC3D does not come with the X-Plane plugin included. You''ll need to download and install it. Along with the plugin file and the .tcl file, you'll also need some data refs files.

On the Mac,

AC3D 8.3 and later: you must open the AC3D.app bundle and put them in the plugins folder. Either CTRL+left click, or right-click on the AC3D app icon to get a popup menu and select "Show package contents". Copy the files into the plugins folder.

How to check what version of the X-Plane plugin you have
Within AC3D, go to the Help menu and select "About Plugins". It's usually at the bottom "OBJ8 X-Plane".

To check that the plugin is installed and running
If it's all fine, you'll see and X-Plane menu on the right end of the main AC3D menu.




Documentation

Thanks to captainpeter, a PDF manual for the X-Plane plugin is here: http://www.inivis.com/forum/showthread.php?p=31459

A tutorial on using the plugin to create X-Plane animations

Thanks to Ray Hill for this document which describes how to build 3D cockpits for X-Plane using AC3D: http://www.inivis.com/external/xplan...3Dcockpits.pdf

You can read more about the manipulators here: http://developer.x-plane.com/2016/05...e-mouse-wheel/

Last edited by Andy; 13th May 2021 at 06:57 AM. Reason: added Ray Hills 3d cockpit pdf
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2016, 02:59 PM   #2
Tonka
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

Many many thanks for this Andy!
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 08:59 AM   #3
Sean
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CYHM
Posts: 28
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

Thank you!
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 02:29 PM   #4
x-crafts
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

HI, I have problems running AC3D with the plugin. It gives me an error message: https://postimg.org/image/q19x25bld/

I tried to remove and paste the files many tiems. I restarted AC3D but I still get the same thing. Any suggestions?
x-crafts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 02:47 PM   #5
Sean
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CYHM
Posts: 28
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

you could try downloading the updated plugin again, maybe try replacing it with the older plugin and see if it would still work?
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 02:49 PM   #6
x-crafts
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

Actually ever since I downloaded AC3D 7.5 I could never get the plugin working but I supposed it was caused by the new AC3D version. So the old plugin was actually supposed to be working with it? Maybe I'll have to reinstall AC3D then
x-crafts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 02:51 PM   #7
Sean
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CYHM
Posts: 28
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

yeah, that might do the trick. I'm using the program on a macbook, I have installed it on my windows machine too and haven't had the same issue myself...all using 7.5.02...
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 04:48 PM   #8
x-crafts
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

Ok reinstall of AC3D did it, it all works fine now! Cheers
x-crafts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2016, 05:03 PM   #9
Sean
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CYHM
Posts: 28
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

Excellent!
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2016, 04:55 AM   #10
jmh
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Default Re: New AC3D X-Plane plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Here is the latest X-Plane plugin for AC3D. This version 3.3b1. It adds support for the new X-Plane 10.50 Manipulators.

Windows

Mac


You can read more about these manipulators here: http://developer.x-plane.com/2016/05...e-mouse-wheel/
Hi Andy and thank you for this!
This is great news!

One question though...are you working on a Linux version? It is well needed IMHO...

Thanks again!
jmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020