Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th February 2020, 07:58 AM   #1
cambridge
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Default transparencies for x-plane

I'm trying to create a transparent canopy for x-plane. Starting from an STL file (from SolidWorks) I've added a white texture and made the material transparent and ticked the transparency box in the x-plane dropdown, but the x-plane .obj is opaque.

I've tried both surface and solid SW objects...

What's the correct set of actions?
cambridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2020, 07:52 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Re: transparencies for x-plane

You may need to create a transparent texture, rather that a white one.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2020, 08:23 AM   #3
cambridge
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Default Re: transparencies for x-plane

Ah - yes, I'd tried that too. When I then try /x-plane/make transparent it tells me that I already have an alpha channel, so I guess it's doing the same thing. Still doesn't work I'm afraid.
cambridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020