Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd October 2006, 08:21 AM   #1
INNIS
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Default Fine Modelling

Hi All
I am doing a model that is under 1 metre in size and while I can
change my settings so the grid size is 0.1 of a metre.Is it possible
to get the X,Y,Z coordinates to measure in anything less than 0.01
of a metre.I have tried changing the decimal place setting in Settings/
Advanced to 4 decimal places but this does not seem to change the
coordinates which seem to stay at two decimal places.Is there a way
to read at greater than two decimal places.
Thanks in advance

Cheers
Innis
INNIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2006, 08:41 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: Fine Modelling

Yes, it is possible - will need to restart AC3D to make this setting work.

(If you put your mouse pointer over the text on any setting label in File->settings, you'll see a short description popup - and it will say if AC3D needs a restart)
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2006, 04:42 PM   #3
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Fine Modelling

Keep in mind that "1" can be anything in AC3D, so if it usually equals 1 meter or one foot, you can work in centimeter or milimeter mode and easily "get microscopic" with the 3 or four decimal points you have. And, if you need to export your model later, and the relative size makes a difference, you can simply use the Scaling % tool to reduce it after it's all done.

I suppose what you want to avoid is having to zoom in past where the rendering is comfortable with displaying the results.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals

Last edited by Stiglr; 24th October 2006 at 10:03 AM.
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 05:10 AM   #4
INNIS
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: Fine Modelling

Thanks Andy
Forgot the restart bit.
Thanks again

Cheers
Innis
INNIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020