Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th August 2008, 02:20 AM   #1
proximulator
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default bringing multiple-prim sculptie inworld

Hello,

I am working on the object which consists of precise multiple sculpties (components of the object). It looks very okay in AC3D, but now - the big question arises:

How to import it into Secondlife by preserving the exact size proportions between the components as well as relative positions of each of them. So i can just link them
together inworld and object is ready.

Any suggestions?

Thank you!
proximulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2008, 06:49 PM   #2
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: bringing multiple-prim sculptie inworld

You could try the box maker. The box maker uses the object boundaries of the mesh, so in theory it should work with sculpties. It should re-create it in SL as boxes, which you could then apply the sculpt maps to.

Otherwise, you can get the size and position of the object in AC3D by clicking the > button next to the move and size panels in AC3D. You can enter those numbers in SL, just be sure to swap the Y and Z as SL has its axis reversed.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2008, 03:36 AM   #3
proximulator
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: bringing multiple-prim sculptie inworld

This is not working. Because if I have for example a shape (modeled with SL sphere) which is 4x1x2 in AC3D then it will show the right proportions only if sculpty texture is applied to object with equal xyz dimensions (1x1x1) in SL.

Therefore all the maths doing with boxes - only corrupt the proportions of the final sculpty.
proximulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2008, 06:14 AM   #4
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: bringing multiple-prim sculptie inworld

Use the normalized mode. This will force the sculpt map to 1x1x1.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020