![]() |
#1 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
When I update and save a texture file in my graphics editor, AC3D doesn't always update the object textures. It's fails intermittently, getting worse as time goes on until its 100% and I have to close and reopen AC3D to see the change.
My "texture update check freq" is set to 3000. I'm using GIMP to update a .png file. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Administrator
Professional user
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,523
|
![]()
I just tried it on Windows, changing the image with Photoshop and it worked OK.
Is this on Windows, Mac or Linux? I wonder if GIMP could be preserving the file modification info? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
I'm running Windows 10.
I'll have to do some tests to see if the file modification date/time is updated in a timely manner. I changed update frequency from 3000 to 10000 and that helps. It takes a longer time before it starts failing. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
The file modification time is updated corrected (as seen in windows explorer), but AC3D doesn't pickup the changes.
It could be that GIMP or Windows (more likely) has the file locked for an extended time after the modification. It's going to take a while to google that out since I'm not aware of an lsof command for windows. Last edited by Perry; 8th January 2023 at 09:42 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
OpenFileView doesn't show panel.png is being locked by GIMP, AC3D or Windows Explorer. Even when I'm saving the file. OFV's refresh rate is set to 1 second.
Windows explorer preview view shows changes made by GIMP or MS Paint, immediatel and every time. I did the following in GIMP one at a time. GIMP: Save background color to OFF GIMP: Changed Export Compression from 9 to 0 GIMP: Changed Export Save creation time to off GIMP: Changed Export Save exif data to off GIMP: Changed Export Save xmpp data to off GIMP: Changed Export Save thumbnail to off GIMP: Changed Export Save color profile to off GIMP: Changed Export Save IPCT data to ON GIMP: Changed Export Save layer offset to on GIMP: Reset Export Settings to default After AC3D stopped auto updated, I loaded file in MS Paint in resaved. AC3D still wouldn't load. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
NOTE:
Running sysinternal's sync command doesn't work PowerShell command "Write-VolumeCache C" doesn't work. Turning off write caching to hard drive doesn't work. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Administrator
Professional user
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,523
|
![]()
Can you try this?
Start AC3D from the command line with "ac3d -debug", create a shape, texture it. "touch" the texture file to see if the debgging info reports that the texture reloads. use: Code:
copy /b test.jpg +,, Each time the file is touched, the texture should reload into AC3D and be reported on the debug output. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
Here's the debug output after resaving the file. 4th line down says "failed to load image" but doesn't say why. Is there a higher debug level?
================================================== =========== COMMAND: 'add_new_texture' 'C:/X-Plane 11/Aircraft/Custom/2 Military/Fighter/P-51H Mustang/Cockpit_3d/-PANELS-/Panel.png' 'C:/X-Plane 11/Aircraft/Custom/2 Military/Fighter/P-51H Mustang/Cockpit_3d/-PANELS-/Panel.png' reloading texturereloading texture C:/X-Plane 11/Aircraft/Custom/2 Military/Fighter/P-51H Mustang/Cockpit_3d/-PANELS-/Panel.png sending to TCL: 'display_message "loading texture C:/X-Plane 11/Aircraft/Custom/2 Military/Fighter/P-51H Mustang/Cockpit_3d/-PANELS-/Panel.png"' failed to load image RESULT: "(null)" COMMAND: 'selection_changed' 'texture reloaded' SELECTION CHANGED (texture reloaded) one object selected - finding it texturebuild image=bb8de2e0 binding texture with index 1 sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel "Editing 164 surfaces of object: 'Panel, Main', Surfaces selected in TCE: 164"}' sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel2 "Texture: C:/X-Plane 11/Aircraft/Custom/2 Military/Fighter/P-51H Mustang/Cockpit_3d/-PANELS-/Panel.png (4096 x 4096)"}' sending to TCL: 'uv_do_sensitivity' COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_vertices' RESULT: "0" COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_surfaces' RESULT: "164" sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel "Editing 164 surfaces of object: 'Panel, Main', Surfaces selected in TCE: 164"}' sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel2 "Texture: C:/X-Plane 11/Aircraft/Custom/2 Military/Fighter/P-51H Mustang/Cockpit_3d/-PANELS-/Panel.png (4096 x 4096)"}' sending to TCL: 'uv_do_sensitivity' COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_vertices' RESULT: "0" COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_surfaces' RESULT: "164" RESULT: "164" COMMAND: 'redraw_all' RESULT: "(null)" |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Administrator
Professional user
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,523
|
![]()
I wonder if it's the spaces, or some other characters, in the filename causing problem?
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
Junior Member
Junior member
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
|
![]()
I copied the files I was working with to new directory and filenames with no spaces. The problem still occurs. See below.
================================================== ========= COMMAND: 'add_new_texture' 'C:/TEST/TEST_Panel.png' 'C:/TEST/TEST_Panel.png' reloading texturereloading texture C:/TEST/TEST_Panel.png sending to TCL: 'display_message "loading texture C:/TEST/TEST_Panel.png"' failed to load image RESULT: "(null)" COMMAND: 'selection_changed' 'texture reloaded' SELECTION CHANGED (texture reloaded) one object selected - finding it texturebuild image=b3e2500 binding texture with index 2 sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel "Editing 164 surfaces of object: 'Panel, Main', Surfaces selected in TCE: 164"}' sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel2 "Texture: C:/TEST/TEST_Panel.png (4096 x 4096)"}' sending to TCL: 'uv_do_sensitivity' COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_vertices' RESULT: "0" COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_surfaces' RESULT: "164" sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel "Editing 164 surfaces of object: 'Panel, Main', Surfaces selected in TCE: 164"}' sending to TCL: 'catch {set uvedit_infolabel2 "Texture: C:/TEST/TEST_Panel.png (4096 x 4096)"}' sending to TCL: 'uv_do_sensitivity' COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_vertices' RESULT: "0" COMMAND: 'uv_get_selected_surfaces' RESULT: "164" RESULT: "164" COMMAND: 'redraw_all' RESULT: "(null)" |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Tags |
auto update, texture mapping |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|