Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D News and Announcements
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th November 2006, 11:00 AM   #1
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,565
Default AC3D 6.1 Out Now

AC3D 6.1 OUT NOW for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux

New Booleans - A 'Hole' New World

6.1 may sound like a minor release, but wait until you see what's in it! We've been busy putting the finishing touches to the new version, and are pleased to announce that AC3D 6.1 is out now and available to download today.

This release sees a big step forward with the incorporation of Boolean operations into AC3D's toolkit, making it easy to join, subtract and intersect any two objects. Think of it as having your own virtual workbench, where you can use any AC3D object to drill, saw and cut - to tackle any job.

As you would expect from AC3D, it's quick and straightforward to do; simply select objects and choose from the new Boolean functions in the Object menu. Its uses are unlimited; think making doorways, windows, ailerons, engraving, holes in cheese? - we'll stop there, but hopefully you get the idea.

See the new section in the manual with illustrated examples of the new Boolean functions.




Other new features:

Terragen .ter Importer

You can now import Terragen terrains into AC3D. Terragen is free for non-commercial see: http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen/

Download data for a bunch of real-world locations: http://www.terracreation.com/Terrains.htm

Terragen resource site, links to many sources of terrain data: http://www.terrasource.net/


More new Stuff
Surface->Flatten, drag and drop within the Hierarchy and more. For a detailed list see the installer/README.

Upgrade news
AC3D 6.1 is free if you purchased AC3D after May 2005. For pre-June 2005 license holders, please visit our upgrade center for a discounted upgrade.

For pre-June 2005 Site license holders - please contact us directly with your license details and we will get straight back to you with upgrade info.

Gift Options
Give them a gift this Christmas that won't end up in a corner by New Year's Day! By selecting our gift option via the purchase page, you can buy our latest version as a gift. (Select “Yes I would like to purchase for someone else…” on the “Is your shipping address different than your billing address, or is this a purchase for someone else” option, and the AC3D license will be made in the recipient’s name and sent directly to them).

Spanish manual
Many thanks to José Pascual Molina Massó and Arturo S. García Jiménez; a Spanish translation of the AC3D 6 manual is available to download from www.ac3d.org

Last edited by Andy; 5th December 2006 at 10:09 AM.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 11:46 AM   #2
mconn1
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 55
Default Re: AC3D 6.1 Out Now

Hi Andy

Just tried the Boolean in 6.1

Much cleaner and more intuitive. I think you outdid yourself this time!

I'm looking forward to checking out the other improvements.

Nice job!!!
mconn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 11:52 AM   #3
g7sta
Member
Advanced member
 
g7sta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 40
Default Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

Cooolll...

Can't wait to get home from work and download the update and get cracking...!

Great news Andy, thank you!

Steve
__________________
Digital Waterfalls - Sci-Fi, Surreal, Fractals, Terran Trade Authority
http://www.digitalwaterfalls.co.uk
g7sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 12:22 PM   #4
coldby
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 102
Thumbs up Wow!

Thank you Andy!
Now I know how I'm going to spend the evening - at least until my wife starts pinching me with a fork just to check if I'm still alive

Can hardly wait till I find out if it's really as great as you say it is - as far as I know it might as well be better...

Comments tomorrow; by now thanks again

Coldby
coldby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2006, 02:42 AM   #5
Big-Z
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Cool Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

Hi, I was wondering about Ac3d 6.1 Does it have dot snaping and line smoothing?

Zack
Big-Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 06:30 AM   #6
coldby
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 102
Default Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

Hi Zack,
about dot-snapping I wouldn't know - it depends of what you mean by that: if (as I suspect) you mean that a dot placed within a given distance from another one should automatically drop onto it, I fear not. I muddle through by selecting the target dot, getting its coordinates (the '>' left of the position windows), then selecting the dot to be moved and forcing it there ('move to') - and it isn't half as cumbersome as it sounds.
About line smoothing, what's wrong with the subdiv+ feature? At least by me it's a pleasure seeing it work.
coldby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 11:53 AM   #7
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Cool Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

Try the "Spline" function for smoothing a polyline.
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2006, 03:51 PM   #8
nyerges
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 3
Default Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

I tried the Boolean and did not have a perfect experience.

My block after I milled a slot in it with a cylinder looked like (see attachement).

Most of the cuts came out ok, but some removed vertices it should have left.

Sandor
Attached Files
File Type: ac Milling test.ac (31.8 KB, 560 views)
__________________
MEMS man
nyerges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2006, 07:39 AM   #9
Gernot
Member
Expert member
 
Gernot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 75
Default Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

The greeble plugin refuses to load?

Edit:
It works not. I uninstalled and re-installed. Must have been a problem when overwriting an installation.
__________________
www.GLBasic.com

Last edited by Gernot; 11th December 2006 at 09:33 AM.
Gernot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2006, 06:19 PM   #10
Steven
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
Default Re: Ac3d 6.1 Out Now

Hello Andy

I can't find my license number for AC3D 5.0.21...
It would be nice to see it in the Help / About AC3D pop-up window along with software version and copyrights info.

Where can I find my license number?

Thanks a bunch
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020