Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D News and Announcements
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd July 2007, 07:18 AM   #1
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,565
Default Second Life plugin now available

For download and more info, see: www.inivis.com/secondlife.html
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2007, 11:14 AM   #2
fragghetto
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Hey Andy,
cool! This will bring many people on AC3D website (and even money I hope for you)...
The question I have is that will be possible with this plugin to directly export meshes in SL like: buildings, characters, etc?

thnaks a lot, and again, great plug!
fragghetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2007, 08:25 PM   #3
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

That's exactly what this plug-in is for, in fact.

This plug-in allows you to create meshes in AC3D and export them to a "sculpted prim". Sculpted prims, if you haven't seen them before, are a new format that allows you to create complex, organic shapes from a single prim. You'll likely still need to use more than one prim for something like a character, but I've already been able to do things as complex as a full head with a single sculpted prim.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2007, 10:28 AM   #4
Gwyneth Llewelyn
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Gwyneth Llewelyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Neufreistadt, Second Life
Posts: 2
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Works flawlessly! Thank you so much. I was using another sculptie exporter, which sadly was Windows-only (I've bought both Mac and Windows licenses for AC3D). I'm very thankful for you to have released this!

Now I just need to learn how to apply textures and bake them, and save both together Please bear with me, I'm an utter newbie with AC3D (and a very amateurish 3D modeller!...), but so far, this sounds very very promising. AC3D has been the easiest modelling tool I've used so far, it's very encouraging to work as a total amateur.... but still allows a high degree of sophistication, which is exactly what I like: simple to use, powerful to create things!
Gwyneth Llewelyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2007, 03:11 PM   #5
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Awesome, Gwyn. Are any of your slexchange things sculpties, or too soon yet? :-)

My own slurl (Zora Spoonhammer):
Areumdeuli (73, 102, 104)
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 02:41 PM   #6
Cheewha Palen
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Hello,

First, Great product love using it to export to Second Life! Thank you!

I have a question about the sculptie extruding found on the surface tab.

When I use this and export a model I get a wad of something...lol sculptie looks like a crumbled up version of what it did in ac3d.

Any steps I am missing to get this tool working right?

Any advice is greatly appreciated



Thanks!
Cheewha Palen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 06:42 PM   #7
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Try exporting a face at a time. The "scultpy extrude" isn't as full-featured as the regular extrude, so it doesn't handle multiple faces very well, but it preserves the UV space which the regular extrude doesn't. If you extrude one face at a time, you should have better results.

If you have something really complicated that you want to extrude, and the sculpty extrude still isn't cutting it, it's okay to use the regular extrude but you'll need to re-texture the area when you're done. Just texture all surfaces of the extruded area, and then fit them back into the original map and snap the UVs together to get rid of any holes.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 08:05 PM   #8
Gwyneth Llewelyn
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Gwyneth Llewelyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Neufreistadt, Second Life
Posts: 2
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa View Post
Awesome, Gwyn. Are any of your slexchange things sculpties, or too soon yet? :-)
Waaaay too soon, Lisa, not only I haven't got much time free (an hour per week... at most ), but I'm no professional modeller so, like any begginer and amateur, this means that it's pretty much low on my priorities )

Still, it's lovely to know that this works quite well and it's easy enough for people like me to use and enjoy!
Gwyneth Llewelyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2007, 09:26 AM   #9
HD1
Junior Member
Junior member
 
HD1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Andy !! Brother !! LOL
Awesome job on the SL Exporter package !! Thank you Very much.
I was wondering if you could point me to a good tutorial on creating UV Maps so I can branch out from the base prims some.

Thanks again for a job well done...
HD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2007, 02:02 AM   #10
ramesh
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Second Life plugin now available

Hey Andy,
Glad to see u again I had some difficulty to get into the forum but today I tried my password and it worked.
I was trying to find out how use ac3d for sculpties. Works fine if I start from the 3 primitives available in the plugin folder. What would be your advice if one wants to important a 3ds object and try to export it as a sculptie? I know it has something to do with UV maps + texture but am a total noob in this aspect. Can you point me to info explaining how it can be done. I imported my 3ds object in ac3d and it looks fine. So that part works.
Ramesh
ramesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020