Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Plugins and Other Resources
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th June 2015, 05:20 PM   #1
papamac
Junior Member
Member
 
papamac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Importing Blender files into AC3D

Does anybody know of a plugin or procedure to use to import Blender objects into AC3D without losing the animations? The Wavefront (.obj) format imports the objects seemingly perfectly but animations don't make the transition.
papamac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2015, 06:35 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Are you talking about the X-Plane "obj" format?

OBJ files (wavefront file format) doesn't support animation and AC3D doesn't have animation apart from what is added by the X-Plane plugin.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2015, 01:24 PM   #3
papamac
Junior Member
Member
 
papamac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Andy, I know all of that. I was just using Wavefront as an example. I really don't care what format is used for the export as long as AC3D can import it. In older Blender versions, prior to 2.5 I believe, we were able to export animations into AC3D but no longer. I was hoping that somebody had developed a plugin or knew of a procedure to follow to retain the animations in the transfer.
papamac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2015, 05:15 PM   #4
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Hi,
if you want to bring animations for X-Plane from Blender to AC3D you have to go via the X-Plane (native) .obj file format.
Use the X-Plane exporter in Blender, then import into AC3D using the X-Plane plugin. There is no other way.

You can export direct to AC3D format from Blender using a python script, but without animations! There are sep. scripts for Blender 2.49 & Blender 2.5+. My own experience with the new exporter are minimal though. It works, but with lots of caveats.

cheers
peter


Quote:
Originally Posted by papamac View Post
Andy, I know all of that. I was just using Wavefront as an example. I really don't care what format is used for the export as long as AC3D can import it. In older Blender versions, prior to 2.5 I believe, we were able to export animations into AC3D but no longer. I was hoping that somebody had developed a plugin or knew of a procedure to follow to retain the animations in the transfer.
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2015, 05:33 PM   #5
papamac
Junior Member
Member
 
papamac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Thanks. That gives me an idea: Export directly to AC3D in .ac format to get the objects. Then export to X-Plane and back to AC3D to capture the animations. Merge to recover the final item.
papamac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2015, 07:33 PM   #6
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by papamac View Post
Thanks. That gives me an idea: Export directly to AC3D in .ac format to get the objects. Then export to X-Plane and back to AC3D to capture the animations. Merge to recover the final item.
if the source is blender with proper animations for x-plane
  1. export to x-plane obj format from blender
  2. import x-plane object to AC3D
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 09:53 AM   #7
papamac
Junior Member
Member
 
papamac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Both X-Plane Plugins for AC3D and Blender add many additional surfaces when they convert their respective files into X-Plane object format. Exporting those objects back into the 3D modeling software with all of their additional "tri's" really complicates the modeling process. Further X-Plane is extremely sensitive to the object vertex count, i.e., degrading the frame rate. That's why it's important to be able to export an exact duplicate of the Blender object into AC3D.
papamac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 07:25 PM   #8
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by papamac View Post
Both X-Plane Plugins for AC3D and Blender add many additional surfaces when they convert their respective files into X-Plane object format. Exporting those objects back into the 3D modeling software with all of their additional "tri's" really complicates the modeling process. Further X-Plane is extremely sensitive to the object vertex count, i.e., degrading the frame rate. That's why it's important to be able to export an exact duplicate of the Blender object into AC3D.
Try AC3D's optimize vertices and optimize surfaces.
I never get unnecessary geometry added when moving between blender & ac3d.

peter
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 07:41 PM   #9
papamac
Junior Member
Member
 
papamac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

I don't either. But you will if you go from Blender to X-Plane and then back to AC3D. Ditto going from AC3D to X-Plane and back to AC3D.
papamac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2015, 05:10 PM   #10
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: Importing Blender files into AC3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by papamac View Post
I don't either. But you will if you go from Blender to X-Plane and then back to AC3D. Ditto going from AC3D to X-Plane and back to AC3D.
Right, but this is exactly what 'optimize vertices' will take care of.
In Blender there's an equivalent command.

peter
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020