Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th October 2007, 08:42 AM   #11
tbd
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 883
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Tank you for the nice words I am done texturing now. So here are some pics from Ac3d and the finished tank. The rendered picture are actually 1600x875, but photobucket rezises the pics to max 1024x768.





tbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 11:45 AM   #12
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: Reworking the tank

You know, I wouldn't be at all surprised if I saw this in a real army. Your renders are very photorealistic. This is one of the most remarkable designs I've seen on this site, and that's saying something.
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 08:11 PM   #13
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Holy snap dude. Aren't you worried about your computer dying on ya.
__________________
"There are those who think one step in advanced. Then there are those who think about there moves at the last minute."
==========================================
"Its those people who think one step in advanced and stay ahead of the game who come out on top. those who fail to understand why they didn't make it probably didn't think in advanced."

add this to your signature if you are a thinker.

Quote from me Daniel Reed a.k.a "nightoftheroundtable"
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 09:13 PM   #14
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: Reworking the tank

He's probably one of those lucky people who have a dual or even quad core processor. That automatically puts him ahead of us poor peons stuck with things like Celerons.
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2007, 03:08 AM   #15
tbd
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 883
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Hehe, The model is actually not that big as you can see. The textures drag the performance a little bit down, but Ac3d are very good in handling big models. Like the landing platform. That is a bit sluggish, but hide what you dont need and its no problem.
Attached Images
  
tbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2007, 08:51 PM   #16
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Wow, your texture work is as amazing as your modeling. It's looking incredible.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2007, 01:13 AM   #17
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbd View Post
Hehe, The model is actually not that big as you can see. The textures drag the performance a little bit down, but Ac3d are very good in handling big models. Like the landing platform. That is a bit sluggish, but hide what you dont need and its no problem.
Either way dude Awsome work as always. I never have been able to catch up with you.
__________________
"There are those who think one step in advanced. Then there are those who think about there moves at the last minute."
==========================================
"Its those people who think one step in advanced and stay ahead of the game who come out on top. those who fail to understand why they didn't make it probably didn't think in advanced."

add this to your signature if you are a thinker.

Quote from me Daniel Reed a.k.a "nightoftheroundtable"
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2007, 03:19 PM   #18
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 737
Default Re: Reworking the tank

thor, this last render is really great.
If you don't mind, please could you share the way you're UV mapping such a model with such an amount of polygons ?
It usually takes me a LOT of time to UV map 3D models, in order to have them textured the best way ... (needless to say that it is boring most of the time).
How did you proceed with this one ?
I guess you've UV mapped all the important surfaces (the most visible ones) and maybe collapsed the others onto a single color point of the texture / material ... ?
How many textures (or textures maps) do you use for this model ?
TIA.
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 04:08 PM   #19
tbd
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 883
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by luuckyy View Post
If you don't mind, please could you share the way you're UV mapping such a model with such an amount of polygons ?
It usually takes me a LOT of time to UV map 3D models, in order to have them textured the best way ... (needless to say that it is boring most of the time).
How did you proceed with this one ?
I guess you've UV mapped all the important surfaces (the most visible ones) and maybe collapsed the others onto a single color point of the texture / material ... ?
How many textures (or textures maps) do you use for this model ?
TIA.
I have used 15 pcs 512x512 and 2 pcs 1024x1024. The 1024 pcs are on the main body to get a bit more detail. And the main objects are uv mapped yes.

Like the main body are maped four ways. its top, side and front and back. This is done in the TCE. Also the armor plates are individual objects so I can if I like, add more details/texture.

Now, I havent done any mapping on most of the smaller details.Like the whinch. Its just the default mapping and because the original shape is modified you get a variation in the mapping. I didnt need to alter that because of the distance to the camera when rendering is to far to see the difference.


This is mapped with the uv mapper plugin. I have used it on many of the details because it gives a nice resoult. This is mapped cylindrical first, and then modified in the TCE on the top and bottom. Just select the surfaces you want to mod and then set the mapping you want. I used the remap and top on the top and bottom armor in the TCE on this. Just ask if something is unclear .

I'm no guru on this,but its how I do it.
tbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 07:59 PM   #20
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 737
Default Re: Reworking the tank

Thank you very much thor !
All is clear for me.
It's always good to see how other people work with their 3D models.
There's always something to learn even from non guru persons

Thanks !
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020