Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th February 2004, 05:39 AM   #1
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

heh,
i was serching the net for a light map making software, and i came across a program called 'gile[s]', as i was looking though the suported file types i found that is suported .ac file type....cool.
i donwloaded the demo and it works great. its about $50. it also does some other cool stuff.

i aslo found the LightMap Maker in the resourse section of ac3d.org, but gile is much easyer to use

check it out:
gile - http://www.frecle.net/giles/
LightMap Maker - http://www.windssoft.com/

also if anyone has anything to add to this, i would like to have lots of options before i buy a light map creation tool, thanx

Philip
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 08:33 PM   #2
dbyrd01
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

Sweet! hope its a little smoother than LLM. ill give it a try. thanks.
__________________
It\'s almost impossible to overestimate the unimportance of most things.
dbyrd01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 08:49 PM   #3
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

sure, i think i am about to buy it myself.

it is alot easyer that LLM, plus it is more controlible as far as quality, number of lightmaps, ect.(like that paint tool)
and it supports transparent lightmap creation(like alpha masking, and stain glass window effects), which LLM does not(although, LLM is $12 cheaper)

check out its forum(sorry i dont know the link), you can find it on the giles hompage. :wink:

Andy - you should consider adding a link to giles in the resources section of ac3d.org, just a thought. :wink:

Philip
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 12:07 AM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,451
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

>Andy - you should consider adding a link to giles in the resources section of ac3d.org, just a thought.

Hi Philip,

Please add a message about this resource in the tutorials/resource section on this forum.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 02:41 PM   #5
-WOODY-
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Homje of the Indy 500
Posts: 176
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

I'll tell ya what program I'd love to have and that's Z Brush. With that you coiuld import your models into it and directly paint and texture your models then export them back into AC3D again. A bit pricey though.
__________________
http://home.earthlink.net/~slwoodgraphics/coupe_sig.jpg
Take a gander at my fan site Three D madness
-WOODY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 09:26 PM   #6
Cowboybebop
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 155
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

zBrush is pretty good app, I've been pondering over getting it just waiting to see what the new upgrade is going to be like. Both applications (ac3d & zbrush) compliment each other. Modeling wise Zbrush seems great for complex organics and textures and ac3d for everything else.
__________________
We got Andy and Woody. So I guess I\'ll be Bebop Lightyear.

I admire the work of the greatest Modeler of them all, God.
Cowboybebop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2004, 11:24 AM   #7
-WOODY-
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Homje of the Indy 500
Posts: 176
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

Yeah that's true. ZBrush is pretty much used for organic modeling whereas you can do both in AC3D. You can come up with some cool texturing effects with it and paint your model to make it look almost real.
I've been playing around with the demo and it's about the weirdest program that I've ever messed with. I don't know half the time if I'm painting or modeling or both lol.
__________________
http://home.earthlink.net/~slwoodgraphics/coupe_sig.jpg
Take a gander at my fan site Three D madness
-WOODY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2004, 09:14 PM   #8
Cowboybebop
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 155
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

The way I look at it is I would dread trying to create a scene in zbrush especially on of a town and etc. The same way I dread using AC3d for complex organic shapes, although I haven't tried since Andy added in the Slice surface tool. Before that my work arounds consumed enormous amounts of time. So I would make cars, buildings, robots, low poly characters and etc with ac3d because it's the strenght of the application to do them and do them very quickly. And the strenght of Zbrush is to Texture, normal maps and Organic and complex organic shapes. I find I get less headaches and frustration when I use each program for what I feel is it's strong points. Though I've only played with the zbrush demo for a few weeks, I can't get use to the interface yet. Once I do I'd probably pick it up
__________________
We got Andy and Woody. So I guess I\'ll be Bebop Lightyear.

I admire the work of the greatest Modeler of them all, God.
Cowboybebop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2004, 11:16 PM   #9
dbyrd01
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

alas, gile(s) doesnt work with a 3 monitor system. RATS!
__________________
It\'s almost impossible to overestimate the unimportance of most things.
dbyrd01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 01:10 PM   #10
gogi
Member
Expert member
 
gogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: toronto
Posts: 61
Default Re: Gile[s]...did any one know about this?

Hi guys,
Regarding Zbrush I have been playing around with it importing and exporting models I did in AC3D in Zbrush and vice versa, you are right Woody it is strange software but in good way .My basic modeling tool is still AC3D.
__________________
Behind every solution there is problem
gogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020