Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th April 2009, 12:09 AM   #1
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default How to extrude a road segment?

I haven't been able to extrude a road segment along a line in ac3d. Is it possible? The picture should show what i'm talking about. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	axle.JPG
Views:	237
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	1489  

Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 04:27 AM   #2
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: How to extrude a road segment?

You can only extrude along the line with a single surface face.

So if you take the cross section face of the road and extrude this it will work, but you'll have to re-map the road surface.

You might try using replicator to build the raod, but it will be limited to the same blocks and positions in segments, so smooth curves are out of the question.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 03:45 PM   #3
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: How to extrude a road segment?

Yea, the cross section method works great, the only downfall is having to figure out a way to texture each road segment once you have a full road extruded. Blender has a really cool system fo making a track and texturing it, I was hoping ac3d did also....since I really dislike blender :P

this is the blender technique.
http://supertuxkart.sourceforge.net/...lling_tutorial

Lets say I extrude a full road, is there a way to texture all segments without doing each individually?
Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 04:33 PM   #4
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: How to extrude a road segment?

You can, it is about know how far you can push the TCE.

Select the whole road and map it to the texture, then in the TCE map it so the road surface is on top of the model.

Now you should see a curved road on the texture and not lined up at all.

Depending how much curve you have will depend on how far you'll have to push the mapping around.

Move the mapped area off the side of the texture, you need to do this to allow you working room and not to allow the model to get in the way.

Select each segment, remap it to the texture, or just select Max. The segment will now fit the texture, but may be off centre or angled.

Then switch the TCE from surface to vertex. You then select all the left hand edges and straighten them up along the left hand edge or the road texture. Do the same for the right hand side.

Continue to do this for each road segment.

Now you have a curved road mapped to a straight texture.

Hope this description helps.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 06:18 PM   #5
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: How to extrude a road segment?

Thanks for the feedback.

What I ended up trying was made a rectangle road segment and textured it. Then used the replicator like you said, and set it on duplicate not extrude. I made the long straight away with that, and for the curves, I just duplicated a single road segment and rotated it X degrees, snapped the vertice of the road segment to the existing piece, and repeated for a turn. I could have used alot more road segments to make a really smooth road, but I need to keep poly count low for collision in game. After the road was done, I merged all objects and welded the vertice so there were no duplicates. Here's some pics of what it turned out like.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	axle.JPG
Views:	229
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	1491  

Click image for larger version

Name:	alcoa1.JPG
Views:	989
Size:	70.0 KB
ID:	1492  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_443.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	243.7 KB
ID:	1493  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_444.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	268.4 KB
ID:	1494  

Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 07:42 PM   #6
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: How to extrude a road segment?

Your road looks great. That and all your trucks look really sharp.

Another trick: You can also use "abuse of greeble" method to avoid re-texturing.

Use the cross section method Mossie suggested to build the base road. ("Road A") The mapping will be incorrect, as previously mentioned.

Next, make a single chunk of road that is correctly mapped as if you were going to use the replicator method. ("Road B")

Then use the Greeble tool and assign the single road section as a custom Greeble. Set the Greeble tool to 100% with 1 greeble per face, and greeble the original road (Road A) you made with the road section (Road B). This gives the same effect as if you had laid them all down via the replicator, but without having to position each piece.

Here's an older thread showing how to make a chain by abuse-of-greeble, but it's the same idea. http://www.inivis.com/forum/showthre...=greeble+chain
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2009, 10:18 PM   #7
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: How to extrude a road segment?

Thanks lisa, that will make alot less work from now on.
Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020