Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th April 2006, 08:22 PM   #21
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

ooh my bad it does work I just clicked it with my left mouse instead of right clicking
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 08:37 PM   #22
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

ooh yeah thats a nice looking ship willy do you care if I modify it
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 08:41 PM   #23
Willy
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 57
Default

Feel Free.

Please post some pics so we can see.
Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 08:55 PM   #24
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

okay will do post pics on my website when I get anything done if you have any more ship models like that I would be happy to see some
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 01:55 AM   #25
Willy
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 57
Default

Here's a sci-fi aeroplane I did tonight.

It's not much but it shows a couple of new techniques.

http://www.citlink.net/~ckearley/Plane01.ac

.
Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 03:23 PM   #26
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

one question how can you make all these planes with just one box the main thing that I can make planes out of is spheres, any tips on how to make the planes with a four sided cube. obveiesly I know about dividing an object but when I tried that I can't move any any tips
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 03:39 PM   #27
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

ooh I uploaded a pic of your plane that you let me modify I'm still working on it let me know what you think of it.

its at the bottom of my page

http://users.techline.com/drreed/index23456789.htm
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 04:55 PM   #28
Willy
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 57
Default

That is some mighty big fins on that airplane.

As far as box modeling goes I use primarily the box primitive and extrude surfaces and ident (surface menu). I do not use divide because I could never get the hang of it and I don't like the way things subdivide after being divided. If I really need to divide a surface I usually use the knife tool.

You can use spheres to model but that's more traditional modeling rather than box-modeling which imo is what subdivision works best with.

The whole idea of box-modeling and subdivision, as I understand it, is to lessen the workload. Once you get the hang of it the subdivision routine does most of the rounding and smoothing work. Work you'd have to do manually using spheres and other organic shapes and manipulating the surfaces and vertices individually.

Subdivision won't do all the work. But once you get the hang of it you can design a basic shape made out of box type geometry and then subdivide it a couple of times until you see you have a shape you want to work with. Then you can undo and go back to the first level of subdivision and manipulate surfaces and vertices by hand, occaisionally subdividing again to check your work. Then when you are happy with what you have you can subdivide a final time. After that you have the option to manipulate surfaces and vertices again to finish the detail.

I think the whole purpose of subdivision is to save you time. Once you get the hang of it you can make a primitive box-model which subdivides into the shape you want. Thus saving you a lot of work. Then you can add detail manually. I'm sure subdivision is not good for every modeling task but so far I like it.
Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 05:04 PM   #29
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

hey on the subdivison rule can you subdvide surfaces or is it just one object at a time. and I'm glad you like the improvements
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 08:38 PM   #30
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default

ooh okay now I see how you made that ship without dividing the polys lol took me just now to figure it out. is there any more useful tools for ac3d
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020